About

About the Project

I WILL LOVE YOU EVERYWHERE ALWAYS is a book about Hope. It is about finding the everyday places and spaces to feel the enduring presence of loved ones who have passed on. Rendered in the poetic voice of a four-year-old struggling to understand her mother’s illness and passing, it is a book about being brave, being sad, and learning to be OK.

Hope’s journey teaches us that “passing on” doesn’t mean “passing away.” Even in the midst of our sadness, we can make our loved ones present for ourselves and for others anytime we choose to. We just need to talk about them, tell and re-tell their stories, and carry the best of them forward through our words and deeds. As Mommy says, “I’ll hug you every time the wind blows. I’ll kiss your eyelids every time your eyes close. I’ll be Auntie Nima’s softest touch. I’ll be the stuffed bear you love so much. Hope, Baby, what I am trying to say, is that I will never leave you. I will love you everywhere always.”

Written by Renée Alexander Craft and illustrated by Cosmo Whyte, I WILL LOVE YOU EVERYWHERE ALWAYS is a full-color 32-page 11″ x 9″ picture book. In the tradition of Shel Silverstein’s The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and The Giving Tree, this book is targeted to those 1 and up who crave stories of beauty, love, understanding, appreciation, healing, and hope.

About the Author

authorNorth Carolina native Renée Alexander Craft is a writer, scholar, and educator. Her writing includes children’s books, poetry, fiction, critical essays, and texts based on her research within the Afro-Latin community of Portobelo located along the Caribbean coast of the Republic of Panama. She is completing two manuscript projects that reflect this research. Renée is an assistant professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a joint appointment in Communication Studies and Global Studies. She lives in Durham with her husband, Howard, and one-year-old son, Bakari.

To hear her discuss her life and work on WUNC 91.5, click here!

About the Artist

illustratorBorn in St. Andrew, Jamaica, internationally acclaimed artist and arts educator Cosmo Whyte earned a Bachelor in Fine Arts from Bennington College in Vermont, a Post-Baccalaureate Certificate from Maryland Institute College of Art, and will begin a Masters of Fine Arts at the University of Michigan in the fall. In 2010, Cosmo won the Forward Art emerging artist of the year award. His exhibitions include the 2011 “African Continuum,” located at the United Nations Gallery in New York, the 2011 “Mover and Shaker” show at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Georgia, and the 2010 Jamaica Biannual.

To view more of his work, please click here.